Plus Size Fashion from a Plus Perspective

Hello lovelies! Today I wanted to share my thoughts on the fashion/modeling industry. As a fellow plus size woman, I have watched the uprising of plus size women in the media, as well as clothing, to what it is today. It has come so far, and yet falls so short. 


 

I remember younger Rhianna, struggling to find jeans that fit both her hips and thighs properly, in a popular store in her local mall. She was disgusted with herself, disgusted that her body was too gross and fat to fit in “normal” girls clothing. Fast forward 10 years, and I now have a section for my body type. Just recently I went shopping for the first time at Forver 21+ in a mall that I was visiting, and I was in total shock. There were dresses that went past a size 12, and were actually sexy! I was in so much joy, and at the same time sad. Sad that it took so long to finally have clothing that is sexy and embraces my body. Sad that it has to be placed in a small section in the back corner, where as “normal” sized women have the entire store. Am I being over-dramatic? Maybe. But, for as far as we come, we stop so short. There ARE stores out there that embrace larger sizes and incorporate it throughout their floor, and for that I am thankful.

Let’s talk about plus size models. You may have heard of Ashley Graham, plus size model who also designs clothing/lingerie. She is my role model, and is an amazing woman who strives for all women to have body confidence. I absolutely love her. But sometimes I think, what if she had my hanging stomach? What if she had a double chin? Of course, as a model, there are criteria that she needs to follow. Every modeling agency has a list of attributes one must have to qualify. But what if we showed more women with hanging bellies, and overbearing stretch marks. Or women with double chins and round faces. This is also where the media and industry falls short. All women are beautiful, so why aren’t we embracing more than just the thinner faces, flat tummy, curvy plus-size model look? Don’t get me wrong, where we are going is amazing, but there are so many women out there that don’t have their bodies represented at all. 

I have also found that while shopping for larger sizes, the prices are higher. I understand that due to extra fabric being used, it can be more expensive to make. But one time I compared a shirt, same style and everything, one was a size Small and the other a size XXL. The XXL was $14.00 more. Needless to say, I put the XXL shirt back on the rack and walked out. I can’t afford to look good! Now, I do shop at thrift stores and I always take advantage of sales/clearance racks (so, yes, I do look good with what I have). But not all women can afford plus size clothing that looks good on them. The prices are ridiculously high! I refuse to pay $70.00 on a dress. Now, for all women, clothing can be expensive. But my wallet cannot withstand the prices on good plus-sized clothing anymore.

Honestly, this post has turned into a full blown-out rant. But I know that I am not the only woman out there who feels this way. I still shop and support no matter what, but after a while of noticing these changes, I couldn’t help but voice how I felt.

Sign off


What are your thoughts? Have you noticed any changes in your local area? Let me know in the comments below! ❤

Leave a Reply

